If We Help Others, Who Will Help Us?

Brandon Nguyen
The Ends of Globalization
2 min readSep 1, 2021

I am leaning towards having a national identity because it is important that we ensure our necessities before being concerned about the well-being of others. Imagine yourself in a plane about to crash, you see the oxygen masks falling down from the ceiling. You then hear the flight attendants screaming, “Put your own mask on before helping others!” and I tend to agree with this statement. If someone else needs your assistance to put on an oxygen mask and the crash occurs, what will happen if you die in the process while the one you saved lives? How are they going to survive if they can’t take care of themselves? It would have been better if you ensured your safety before tending to others because now we have a person who is capable of aiding others. We have to take care of ourselves before we can take care of others.

Also, the reason I lean more towards having a national identity is because I have a list of people with differing priorities. For example, if I could only save my mother or a stranger from getting hit by a car, I would, without a doubt, choose to save my mother because she is more important than me. The same applies to Americans and people of different nationalities.

However, it all depends on the situation that affects my identity. If the problem is not solved or at least stable in the nation, then I would want to focus my attention towards the nation rather than a different nation. If the problem is solved or stable in my nation, then I would want our nation to aid others in their problems, which includes hunger, poverty, homelessness, and many more. Since in the U.S. we have access to many necessities, I would then have a more global identity. I am stating that I am leaning towards having a national identity because my nation takes priority, so I am at the middle between the two sides.

--

--