Global Identity as the Pursuit of Knowledge

Angela Xuan
The Ends of Globalization
2 min readAug 26, 2020

Some may argue that in order to identify themselves as a true global citizen, they have to understand all of the countries in the world, from their minute nuances to their wide-reaching state of affairs. But how can someone expect himself to be omniscient? Knowing everything about the world is an objectively impossible standard for a human being to achieve. I believe that being a global citizen is not about being all-knowing. Rather, I simply see it as the pursuit of knowledge about the world from different vantage points, and that is why I identify myself as a global citizen.

As our world’s population becomes increasingly woven together through the instantaneous connection of the internet, it has become rather effortless for people to gain new knowledge on essentially anything. In my personal striving for understanding, I find it necessary that I consider topics from different frames of mind. For instance, by only learning United States history from the lens of the like-minded community around me, I would not be able to understand its shades of gray or discover the truth about our country’s hidden skeletons. Learning is a relative process, and I cannot formulate my own opinions if I do not know the whole story.

Our world is undeniably filled with a myriad of beautiful holidays, religious traditions, languages, music, art, and ways of life. As a global citizen who searches for knowledge on these topics, it contributes to my unearthing of important parts of my personal identity. For example, I grew up in a Christian family and was told exactly what to believe. But as I am growing older, I am finding it more important to ask my own questions in order to map out my own views on religion, or the lack thereof. This kind of discovery can be applied to all of the facets of the world. Being a global citizen is the willingness to learn about the various aspects of the world and may result in finding out important aspects about yourself along the way.

#A2–10AM

--

--