Ancillary #2, My Identity

William Carroll
The Ends of Globalization
2 min readSep 1, 2021

I would identify my perspective neither as one of a national nor a global perspective. I was born in New York City and since then have spent perhaps a few weeks beyond our nation’s borders. I listen to American music and attend American schools. Even when I turn on the news, it is rare that I hear about news from overseas, and even when I do, the United States is often still involved. I live life through an American perspective, and as much as I could ever try, some part of that perspective will always be a part of me.

But while my perspective may be one of an American, I do concern myself with global issues, such as the injustices of the Rohingya Muslims, Chinese media suppression, and especially climate change. Just as much as my American perspective is an innate part of my self, so is my status as a citizen of Earth. The issue of climate change is one that no person has the luxury of being able to ignore. Additionally, any person with a sense of morality knows that love, justice, kindness, or any values one believes in must know no limits, including borders. Finally, I believe that no piece of the world’s culture should be ignored, particularly the many religions of Earth. In a religion class, I once was told that religion is the language used to speak about the truth. Personally, I do not believe that there in any one religion that is correct. Rather, I believe in examining the wisdom and truth within all the world’s religions.

Still, when I look at such issues, I look through American media and think about solutions through the ideas of American action. Therefore, I think an American globalist would be an appropriate way of defining my worldview.

--

--