Ancillary 9

Luka Brnetic
The Ends of Globalization
1 min readApr 7, 2022

I am interested in the topic of Croatian agriculture being dominated on the market by foreign agriculture products. The Croatia is not the only one with this problem, there are a lot of other countries that have the same problem as Croatia does. I would focus more on Croatian farmers who are struggling to maintain their businesses because imported goods that are cheaper, but have lower quality are flooding the market. Because of that Croatian farmers are losing interest and they are also losing their businesses because their expenses can not match with the prices of imported products. The background problem about this topic is that Croatia is losing local businesses because imported stuff is way more cheaper and easily accessible for Croatians. Some would say that Croatia should stop bringing so much imported products in the country, while I would say it is really hard to do that because you can’t cut importation, but I think there are still some alternative solution such as increased taxes on imported products. A lot of countries have the same problem as Croatia has, but there also plenty of countries that have figured out how to tackle this challenge. I am interested in exploring this issue because I am from Croatia and I would like to have more background on this issue because I want to maybe find a solution to it.

--

--