Ancillary 9

Ava Kirunchyk
The Ends of Globalization
5 min readApr 7, 2022

My final research topic is on the US implementing a “Photoshop Law ‘’ that promotes health in young women and cuts out beauty ideals of the female body. The law would follow the ones that already exist in European countries, and would state that models appearing in commercial photography whose bodies have been made thinner or thicker by image processing software must be accompanied by “retouched photo”.

The background knowledge I have on this topic so far is that France and Israel have both implemented that exact law into their countries. I also know that Congress tried to pass an act in the United States but it didn’t pass because of the little specifications it had. What I mean by this is that the Act seeked to restrict digital alterations on all advertisements instead of focusing on a specific group. My goal is that with the act I have presented, is that commercialized retouching of models bodies can hone in on the companies that put these on major platforms instead of focusing on individual influencers platforms such as Instagram.

The larger debates around my issue are that the retouching of models body’s to make them appear thinner is causing an increase in eating disorders in the attempt to meet the “beauty standard”. In Western societies women’s BMI has actually increased, meaning that the images they choose to show and photoshop are unrealistic to the majority of the US population. Within the last day an uproar occurred because Kim Kardashian had her company, Skims, edit Tyra Banks body. Viewers were extremely upset because “her natural body was just as beautiful”. I think that this serves as a good point to my topic because Skims was known for incorporating all body types and it is an extremely successful business, yet they are still trying to manipulate these famous models’ bodies.

What I need to figure out is more research and in depth information on the European countries “Photoshop Law”. I also want to figure out more information on why the United States hasn’t implemented it and the steps it would take to implement it. I have done some research but there has been an increase in the amount of eating disorders and body dysmorphia along with studies done to prove it after looking at these altered bodies. I want to go into more depth about this.

My final research topic is on the US implementing a “Photoshop Law ‘’ that promotes health in young women and cuts out beauty ideals of the female body. The law would follow the ones that already exist in European countries, and would state that models appearing in commercial photography whose bodies have been made thinner or thicker by image processing software must be accompanied by “retouched photo”.

The background knowledge I have on this topic so far is that France and Israel have both implemented that exact law into their countries. I also know that Congress tried to pass an act in the United States but it didn’t pass because of the little specifications it had. What I mean by this is that the Act seeked to restrict digital alterations on all advertisements instead of focusing on a specific group. My goal is that with the act I have presented, is that commercialized retouching of models bodies can hone in on the companies that put these on major platforms instead of focusing on individual influencers platforms such as Instagram.

The larger debates around my issue are that the retouching of models body’s to make them appear thinner is causing an increase in eating disorders in the attempt to meet the “beauty standard”. In Western societies women’s BMI has actually increased, meaning that the images they choose to show and photoshop are unrealistic to the majority of the US population. Within the last day an uproar occurred because Kim Kardashian had her company, Skims, edit Tyra Banks body. Viewers were extremely upset because “her natural body was just as beautiful”. I think that this serves as a good point to my topic because Skims was known for incorporating all body types and it is an extremely successful business, yet they are still trying to manipulate these famous models’ bodies.

What I need to figure out is more research and in depth information on the European countries “Photoshop Law”. I also want to figure out more information on why the United States hasn’t implemented it and the steps it would take to implement it. I have done some research but there has been an increase in the amount of eating disorders and body dysmorphia along with studies done to prove it after looking at these altered bodies. I want to go into more depth about this.

My final research topic is on the US implementing a “Photoshop Law ‘’ that promotes health in young women and cuts out beauty ideals of the female body. The law would follow the ones that already exist in European countries, and would state that models appearing in commercial photography whose bodies have been made thinner or thicker by image processing software must be accompanied by “retouched photo”.

The background knowledge I have on this topic so far is that France and Israel have both implemented that exact law into their countries. I also know that Congress tried to pass an act in the United States but it didn’t pass because of the little specifications it had. What I mean by this is that the Act seeked to restrict digital alterations on all advertisements instead of focusing on a specific group. My goal is that with the act I have presented, is that commercialized retouching of models bodies can hone in on the companies that put these on major platforms instead of focusing on individual influencers platforms such as Instagram.

The larger debates around my issue are that the retouching of models body’s to make them appear thinner is causing an increase in eating disorders in the attempt to meet the “beauty standard”. In Western societies women’s BMI has actually increased, meaning that the images they choose to show and photoshop are unrealistic to the majority of the US population. Within the last day an uproar occurred because Kim Kardashian had her company, Skims, edit Tyra Banks body. Viewers were extremely upset because “her natural body was just as beautiful”. I think that this serves as a good point to my topic because Skims was known for incorporating all body types and it is an extremely successful business, yet they are still trying to manipulate these famous models’ bodies.

What I need to figure out is more research and in depth information on the European countries “Photoshop Law”. I also want to figure out more information on why the United States hasn’t implemented it and the steps it would take to implement it. I have done some research but there has been an increase in the amount of eating disorders and body dysmorphia along with studies done to prove it after looking at these altered bodies. I want to go into more depth about this.

--

--