Can One Truly be a Global Citizen When the Largest Problem They Face is Here at Home?

Jordan Renville
The Ends of Globalization
2 min readJan 27, 2021
New York City Subway Car: 1981

To correctly answer this question, you must first look inwards at yourself and see where you are within your society and culture. Personally, as a black man growing up in one of the most racially tense cities in America, it becomes difficult not to see yourself as a second tier citizen when you have been taught that for your entire life. Throughout my eighteen years living in New York City, I have experienced almost every cliché that you can imagine. An elderly white woman clutching their purse with a little extra grip when I walk by. A police officer giving me an extra look when we are both on the same train car. There seems to be underlying and covert racism in a place that claims that we are the most liberal in the country.

How can I possibly be a global citizen when we haven’t been able to get over the issue of racism after almost four hundred years of Americas existence as a country? The answer is… You can’t. Sure, it is possible to look at the news and acknowledge what is happening overseas, but the ability to think globally is a privilege granted to those who can put aside the issues they face nationally.

I have been growing up for almost two decades in East Flatbush, one of Brooklyn’s toughest neighborhoods. Every time I have ever gone outside of the house and have been of the age to recognize racism as a national issue, I have been afraid for my family’s safety. Is today going to be the day where we get stopped by the police? Is today going to be the day where I get mistaken for a criminal? Constant paranoia weighs heavy on the minds of every black person within this nation and prohibits our ability to truly be a global citizen. Until we fix this issue, I do not believe that we can nationally move to a global view.

--

--