Me as a global citizen

Joyce Wang
The Ends of Globalization
2 min readSep 1, 2021

Global citizen is the term which I identify myself with. I do admit that being both a global citizen and local citizen are important for the development of the humanities for the world. But, starting the day I knew there were many countries on this planet, I became a global citizen. I am always curious about the history and culture of every country, comparing them, and adapting positive sides.

First of all, my experiences studying abroad shaped my mindset globally. I started having interactions with different cultures and people around the world. Now I not only care about China, but also the place I live in, the place my friends are from. My news channel changed from local to global. People may say that studying abroad symbolizes that the education from my hometown is not good and I don’t pride my nationality. But in fact, as a representative of international students, I shared our culture and identity with others and the collision of ideas makes the world better off. The negative side of this culture can be changed or fulfilled by the positive side of the other culture. Additionally, when we have a strong national identity, the subjective thinking may cause the existence of bias. By using a global mindset, I can see things in a more objectively perspective.

Also, in this information era, being globalized is unavoidable. My phone was made in China but designed in the U.S. Korean and Japanese food became my favorite. These are all signs of globalization. Because nowadays, no nation can be fully self-fullfied, when this situation happens, trade becomes essential to not only human development but also human survival. Some countries may not agree with the share of resources due to the inequality distribution of them and usually these actions of sending out resources doesn’t have any benefit to the country except for reputation. But lives are more important than the resources, people from countries that don’t have resources also need a chance to survive.

--

--