My Experience as a Global Citizen

Mackenzie Johnson
The Ends of Globalization
2 min readJan 26, 2021

For as long as I can remember I have prioritized helping others in all types of situations and circumstances. This likely stems from being the oldest sibling in my family and always feeling a sense of responsibility to care for my brother, even if it was not necessary. Throughout my academic career, I have joined all types of student organizations and sought leadership positions to better the experience on campus. While all of my efforts in aiding others to date have been locally based, I see myself as a global citizen above all else. My empathy for others has driven me to support and care for them in any way possible even when national borders are in the way.

Through collaboration, I believe the countries of the world will be able to improve the lives of more people than ever before, which is an effort I support wholeheartedly. By thinking globally and acting locally, I help to facilitate the change I hope will occur all over the world. I am aware that my everyday actions will either help or hinder global progress on issues such as climate change, and hence I have taken steps to align my lifestyle with global goals.

Globalization and the concept of global citizenship are currently polarizing topics to address, yet I believe it is important to do so. I am able to keep an open mind when discussing with someone who has a different perspective than myself because it is more important to understand each others’ views rather than agreeing on everything. We live in an extremely complex and chaotic world, but despite this fact I believe it is possible for us all to live harmoniously if we are empathetic and understanding with one another.

For these reasons and more, I see myself as a global citizen and attempt to act as one in my daily life.

--

--