Thoughts on my topic:

Valentina Korte
2 min readSep 25, 2021

--

A4F211PMI grew up listening to the debate surrounding Bolsa familia which is a distributional program which provides financial assistance to the households with the lowest economic strata if they provided proof that the children in the family were attending school and receiving monthly health checkups. This was a subject that actually divided Brazil, at one point 25% of the country was receiving this assistance, consequently these same citizens supported the PT government, since they were the ones that started Bolsa Familia. The problem was that the PT was very corrupt and most importantly they were making government decisions that only solved issues in the short run. The other half of Brazilians questioned where the money for Bolsa Familia was coming from and how this program would help the country in the long run.

Over the years, the truth of the program unfollowed. Despite many families really needing the program, it became impossible for the government to continue and it also led to a lot of unemployment and population growth. Equally, over the past few years I have done a lot more research on poverty, education and struggles faced by many families in developing countries. Research opened my eyes to how our government needs to take immediate action to ensure that all citizens can live a quality healthy life, which at the moment is not happening. Recently, when I started to think about this essay and read the articles I wondered how this idea of a distributional program would function in a more developed nation, or even if we could come together as one united planet to fight poverty.

Through my reading I truly saw both sides of the argument. Now I’m thinking about all the positive solutions that distributional programs bring to low income families and how it is essential for it to exist as well as possible ways in which the government can sustainably implement these goals. I’m also thinking that for my essay I want to explore what has happened internationally and the impact it has had on people.

--

--