Why Not Global?

Queenie Liu
The Ends of Globalization
2 min readJan 27, 2021

Being asked which citizenship I identify myself with, I started to struggle with the definition of global citizenship. Do we have a standard for global citizenship that once people fit all the requirements they can consider themselves global citizens? No, being a global citizen is simply realizing and understanding the world to a greater extent. Therefore, I consider myself a global citizen.

My childhood memories start from China, just like other Chinese children except I was born in Italy. My birthplace did not have many influences on me throughout my thirteen years of living in China, and for me, Italy is a country in which I could visit my parents during vacations. Chinese unique traditions and cultural values are deeply embedded in my mind, and I clearly identify myself as a part of China.

The turning point was in my eighth grade when my parents decided to send me to Switzerland to study. The fact that I was born in Italy becomes conspicuous since I was frequently being asked if I am Chinese or Italian and I started to spend more time in Italy than in China because Italy is closer to Switzerland. I started to learn the Italian language and understand many Italian cultures and customs, and I started to love Italian food, their slow pace of life, and the scenery. Five years of living in Europe make my part of identity a European. Besides that, my study life in Switzerland also changed me, and I became much more open-minded with the different cultures I have seen in my international school.

Being passionate about all I feel, I see, and I experience in Europe, China is still the one that gives me the most sense of belonging, and I treasure both of them. Therefore, having global citizenship solves my struggles between them. With global citizenship, I am able to think from different perspectives and my different identities and understand different sides when facing problems, and I am able to stand in the middle of the balance scale as I see the wider world. Why not global?

--

--