WP 2: THE CULTURE SHOCK EMERGENCY KIT

Maggie
WRIT340_Summer2020
Published in
6 min readJul 6, 2020

https://www.researchgate.net/publication/266448310_Why_Don't_They_Participate_A_Self-Study_of_Chinese_Graduate_Students'_Classroom_Involvement_in_North_America

1. HELP! Where do I even start?

· “Culture Shock USA: Asian Students in America.” (Video, English with Chinese subtitles)

This playful video in English with Chinese subtitles offers basic guidelines on a lot of different subjects, from greetings to food, academic preparation, class participation, and the freshman fifteen. The participants are all Chinese international students who have successfully integrated into their university environments! You can too! The video gave me a useful and friendly starting point to even begin to qualify the cultural differences between American and Chinese cultures and educational settings. You’ll encounter useful tidbits such as “Never order hot water in a restaurant,” or “Don’t say yes to everything.”

2. HELP! What’s expected of me in a classroom setting?

· “Classroom Culture” (Short Article, English)

This short article features four basic principles for success in the American classroom.

By learning about the informal classroom culture, participation requirements, independent and critical thinking, and academic integrity, you can get a clear sense for what’s expected of you. The necessity of participating in class discussions (which are actually a part of your grade! It’s not just the assignments!) was a big shocker for me. The more I jump in and share my opinion, even if it feels unnatural at first, the more comfortable I will feel. The independent and critical thinking part may feel a bit more mysterious, but what it basically means is that it’s not enough to read and know the material for class; you need to formulate your opinion on it. Start by asking these questions: Do I agree with the author? Why/why not? How have the issues discussed played out in my own life? What is a question I would ask the author if I could?

· An additional note on class participation: “Why Don’t They Participate? A Self-Study of Chinese Graduate Students’ Classroom Involvement in North America”. (Article, English)

This self-study (written by Chinese researchers who examines their own experiences in American education) examines the factors that most commonly prevent Chinese international students from speaking up in class. These factors are language, knowledge of the education system, knowledge of the social system, personality, influence of traditional culture, and social/economic/political changes. If you find yourself not participating in class, it could be really useful to ask yourself: what’s holding me back? Which of these factors am I struggling with the most? By diagnosing the root of the problem, you can begin to solve it.

· An additional note on critical thinking: “Critical Thinking: Is the problem Chinese students? Or is it us? It is probably us.” (Article, English)

This article problematizes the assumption that Chinese students suffer from a chronic inability to think critically. Remember: you may have things to learn. You may need to make some adjustments to get more out of your education. Bur, please remember this tag line: YOU ARE NOT THE PROBLEM. The reason why many Chinese students struggle with this component of American education is, as I believe, that they are never explicitly asked to engage in it. The conditions, in which you can flex your critical thinking muscles are often not ideal. For example, you may be asked to read long texts from unfamiliar cultures or to respond to questions and problems that Americans take for granted and you’ve never heard about. There may be a silence over the room once you share your opinion in a class discussion. This doesn’t mean you were wrong. It just means people may need a second to process an opinion that’s new for them. But that’s what makes university education great: the ability to confront perspectives that expand your mind. Don’t take away your classmates of that opportunity.

3. HELP! How do I make friends?

· “Why Chinese Students Don’t Party:” (Video, English with Chinese subtitles)

An honest video from two Chinese students about their experiences with partying at American universities. They describe the reasons why they struggle with going to parties, and what the benefits to saying yes to new experiences might be. There’s definitely no pressure to go to parties if they are not your thing. There are many reasons people choose not to attend parties: having to study, not wanting to drink, struggling with being understandable over loud music and noises. There are also many reasons to go: to relax, to make friends, to check out a new experience. Whatever choices you end up making, know that they don’t define you as a person. Wanting or not wanting to participate in American culture doesn’t mean you are failing at your social life. I found that, for me, making friends in smaller and more intimate settings was the best thing to do at first since I didn’t have to compete with the loud music and could ask questions and really get to know people. Once I got more comfortable and formed a consistent group of friends, I started going to parties because I felt that I could always find my friends if I was feeling uncomfortable.

· “9 Tips for Being Other-Centered in Conversation and Friendship with Chinese Nationals”. (Article, English)

This article that gives guidance to Americans trying to develop meaningful relationships with Chinese nationals was very validating overall. Although it doesn’t offer practical tips for Chinese students trying to get to know Americans, it indirectly lists many cultural differences to be aware of in intercultural communication. By asking Americans to adjust to Chinese communication norms, the article points out the problems of the dominant assumption that Chinese students need to change themselves to fit in. I found it very helpful to read because I realized that others recognized American cultural elements that took me to the wrong way too, and because it made me feel appreciated as a person from an identity worth knowing.

4. HELP! How do I navigate the American racial discourse?

· “International Students and Experiences with Race in the United States”. (Article, English)

This article provides an invaluable overview of how race and identity are viewed in America and highlights some common issues international students face upon entering this unfamiliar conversation. When I first came into the United States, I knew very little about American racial classifications and America’s history of racism against populations of color. As a Chinese citizen, I was leaving a context, in which I was in a racial majority, and arriving into a context, in which I was an “other,” a racial, linguistic, and cultural minority. Nothing could have prepared me for the culture shock of that situation. Learning about microaggressions , such as “brief, everyday exchanges that send denigrating messages to people of color because they belong to a racial minority group,” helped me frame my own isolating experiences, but also prevented me from unconsciously committing microaggressions against Black or Latinx members of my community. Understanding race in America is crucial to becoming an advocate for justice rather than oppression, because in the current climate, and as a person of color, it’s impossible to remain neutral.

· “The Chinese Students Fighting Racism”. (Video, English)

This moving video was made by Chinese students who were targeted by an act of racism at Columbia University in New York City in 2017 and it went viral afterwards. The Chinese students’ nametags were systematically ripped off, so they made a video celebrating the meanings behind their Chinese names and explaining some of the harassment they have faced. This video was very helpful to me because it validated my experience. It showed me that the discomfort I had felt in response to ignorant comments from classmates and teachers was not something I should put up with. As a result, I have tried to speak up and educate whenever these instances happen to me now. However, for those who may not yet be at that stage of their journey, I just want you to feel seen.

--

--