Post 1: Let’s Talk Inequality in Activism

Tonie Daniel
WRIT340_Summer2021
Published in
3 min readMay 26, 2021

I am Black. Not just black, but dark chocolate dipped in with caramel. I have black hair and dark brown eyes. I am a Sierra Leonean native and of Nigerian descent. I am from the OG motherland, the Continent of Africa.

Unfortunately, many have wrongly assumed my ethnicity to be French, African, or plain American. This is why it is vital that I socially negate the social labels about my race as uniquely African — specifically Nigerian-Sierra Leonean.

Even though I am Black, I have never experienced any trauma, such as an unfriendly encounter with law enforcement. Yet, I still question whether I am indeed “Black enough,” pondering if I have lived the experiences of millions of other Black people in America. Perhaps an awkward dilemma, but I still feel unsafe and just as likely to get profiled due to the hue of my chocolate skin.

Moreover, people often ask me questions about my life as a black person in a white-centric world. As a Black man, society exploits me to belong in clubs and organizations that cater explicitly to my race. Yet, there is no National Association for the Development of White People; this does not exist since such an organization would be deemed racist.

Blacks can make jokes about Whites, such as calling them “cracker” and “honky,” but whites cannot reciprocate using the N-word. Slurs are without any doubt offensive and unacceptable by all standards, but an even-level playing field should exist. A playing field not exploited to fit a narrative — neither by the press, media outlets, nor politicians.

The Black Lives Matter founders (Patrisse Cullors, Alicia Garza, and Opal Tometi) share their lessons about leadership, hope, and inspiration in the face of painful realities (TEDx).

Modern activism demonstrates inequality, not equality. Some media outlets and social activists advocate for equitable legislation and equal justice for all Black lives. However, they often ignore the lives of queer-colored women and men when the movement itself began with three Black women, two of whom identify as queer. Journalists and activists most of the time focus on straight, cisgender Black men who are dying at the hands of police.

There must be equal activism! Both men of color and women of color likewise face injustice by police officers, and others have unfortunately died. Even equally important, people who identify as queer and people with gender identities and sexes who push against social norms also face hatred and prejudice. I can no longer live my privileged life and turn a blind eye away from reality. Inequality and injustice are the realities that thousands of queer lives live!

--

--

Tonie Daniel
WRIT340_Summer2021

An undergraduate student at the University of Southern California. Committed, driven, genuine, and intentional in his expressions, words, and actions.