Clarifying Deadlines

Devon Fitzgerald Ralston
writ502
Published in
2 min readJan 19, 2021

I’ve received questions about weekly deadlines that I’m going to try and clarify. I know it can be confusing because of the hybrid nature of the course, so I’ll do the best I can to explain how to think about the work and due dates of the course.

I see each week as laid out in the course schedule as a week’s worth of content. So the reading and writing listed each week should be completed within that week. Since we “meet” on Mondays, the expectation is that you finish all of the previous week’s content by Monday mornings at the latest. So this week’s content (Jan. 18–22) should prepare you for next week’s class in person. When we meet in Owens we will talk about Borge’s “The Garden of Forking Paths” and the Bookrolls pdf. I will discuss the Literacy Practices assignment and set you up for reading the first100 pages (or so) of If on a winter’s night, a traveler by Italo Calvino.

You should have this week’s (Jan 18–22) tasks completed by 9 AM on Monday Jan. 25, so that I can read your responses before we meet in person that night.

So I see Monday as the start of the week and the reading and writing tasks as things you will complete within the listed week. When we meet in person, we will have all the previous weeks’ content to discuss and consider. Major Assignments will have their own due dates which are reflected on the Course Calendar.

I hope that is helpful information. If you have questions, you can email me.

One last reminder: in order to attend class on Monday, Jan. 25 you will need to upload your negative Covid test results into the online portal. If you have questions about this, see the Return to Learn Guidelines .

I look forward to seeing you in person in Owens G02 next week.

Please contact me if I can be of support or if you have questions about this week’s schedule.

--

--