3 Amazing Reasons All Managers Should Also Be Coaches

Emmanuel Afunwa
Write A Catalyst
Published in
3 min readMar 8, 2024

It’s an additional superpower

Photo by Amy Hirschi on Unsplash

The picture most of us have about managers at work is that person who is tough-talking and ever-demanding. That’s one reason people want to dump their bosses and go into something else that will ensure food lands on their tables daily but not work in the corporate offices.

The truth is we may never escape the 9-5 grind or find ourselves holding onto the corporate job before getting established in the business we wish to start like Eve Arnold is doing.

Well, if you decide to go solo and become an entrepreneur a shocker is awaiting you - it is your growth. If you escape the dreadful start of entrepreneurship, then begins the responsibility of building and running a team. So, you see there’s no easy way out?

Here, I can share with you a way to make working fun for you and your team as a leader both in the corporate setting or if you begin to run your own thing.
When I was promoted from a sales representative to become a manager I got the necessary training that could make me fit into the role. I also started reading management and leadership books that helped me hone my skills but all wasn’t adequate. One of my managers suggested I enroll in a coaching course for new managers. Those sessions transformed my ideas about managing people -I understood what it means to be a manager.

Here are three of what I learned in those coaching sessions.

1. It’s a superpower for peak performance
The first thing I learned at the session was that most of us think coaching is the same as teaching. Though it has some semblance of it but done through methods that portray the idea of "show don’t tell" which makes it cool. The coach is merely a guide who makes you own the process so, you learn by doing. He is there only as a guide to ensure you get it right and once you’ve gotten the basics you build on it and become better as you do it repeatedly.

2. You work with someone who seeks your interest
Secondly, I learned that in coaching you work with someone who

Genuinely seeks your best interests and wants you to grow.

Since I was attending those sessions to become a better manager the coach also asked me about my personal goals in addition to wanting me to develop professionally. It was a fusion of professional, personal, personal, emotional and social life. There were periods we chatted to each other and he stated clearly that if I didn't take care of those areas I'd be neglecting a lot of things. He then makes me make commitments on how I wish to improve in all these areas no matter how little. This was an eye-opener for me.

3. Appreciate that Each person is unique
The coach made me know that I was unique in my way and so were the members of my team and I needed to deal with them as such. He began by helping me assess my strengths and weaknesses, then we worked together to improve on my strengths. He never for once tried to talk me down in any form and this he said he expected from those who are handling people( quite obvious but bosses still fail in this aspect)
A manager who acts as a coach needs to appreciate the efforts of individual team members and accompany them along the journey. Celebrating each win along the curve adds to their knowing they have the support of their boss and bolsters their performance on every level.
The sessions were an eye-opening experience for me and I’d recommend that every manager, boss, or leader with the responsibility of handling people should make it a duty to aspire to become not just a leader but also a coach to their teams. This is what will help them become top-performing people who will be ready to bring the best of themselves to the job.
If you enjoyed reading this let me know in the comments.

See you next time.
Emmanuel

--

--

Emmanuel Afunwa
Write A Catalyst

I'm a leadership enthusiast that can help you to improve your business,enhance your team's performance and increase profitability.I also love sharing ideas.