3 Practical Ways To Make A Living Writing.

How the best play the game.

Nonso Divini
Write A Catalyst
3 min readJun 12, 2024

--

Photo by Windows on Unsplash

This is my third year making a living as a professional content and copywriter for hybrid businesses.

Within these three years as a writer:

  • I’ve had $500 months.
  • I’ve had $1,500 months.
  • I’ve also had $0 months.

Now what many people who sell courses on writing won’t tell you is that making good money online goes beyond writing.

You see…

There is the skill side and the business side of writing, and without mastering the two, you’ll live in a continuous cycle of feast and famine.

Photo by Salomé Watel on Unsplash

That’s why I ask writers to pair their skills with these 3 practical ways of making money as a writer.

1. Sell a program.

You are not just a writer; you solve real-world problems.

And problems are money if you see it the right way.

That you write means that, to an extent, you are already solving a problem.

Personally, I figured out I knew how to solve the problem of market research as a copywriter.

I built a course around it and sold it to people who had the same problem.

Now, I don’t know the niche you play in, but with a little bit of thinking, you can come up with a reasonable solution to a monetizable problem.

2. Partner up with a business owner.

I recognized the power of partnership earlier this year, and to be honest, it is perhaps the easiest way to make money as a writer.

I recognized a business owner who needed a good copywriter and offered my services in exchange for a cut of his profit at the end of the month.

This is my sixth month, and so far, I’ve made the most money from this partnership.

3. Build an email list.

This advice gets thrown out all the time, but the reality is that it is the best thing you can do for your writing career.

An email list is not just a lifetime insurance, it can equally be a monthly revenue source if you know how to milk it.

Start a list today and figure it out as you go.

Photo by Nicholas Barbaros on Unsplash

We are all standing on an edge.

We are all figuring it out.

Don’t stop experimenting. That’s where the beauty lies.

You are all that you’ve got, don’t disappoint yourself.

Stay frosty,
Divini.

--

--