3 Reasons Why “Write Like You Talk” Isn’t Great Advice After All

You can do much better

Andres Vourakis
Write A Catalyst

--

Photo by Alex Avalos on Unsplash

I see this problem with a lot of new writers and they don’t realize how much its hurting their growth and read ratio.

Although there is a lot of value in the advice, “write like you talk”, we can’t interpret it too literally.

What the advice really means is:

Write in a way that makes you sound more natural and relatable.

That’s what will help you better connect with your audience, after all, people crave realness.

Although I immigrated to the US when I was 14 years old, I managed to learn the language within a few years, and by the time I was in college, I was already taking honors writing classes.

Photo by Jeswin Thomas on Unsplash

It was back then when I first encountered the “write like you talk” advice, but luckily, I had teachers and mentors who helped me improve my writing before I got too carried away with trying to sound too “relatable” and “down to earth”.

The best thing you can do is to put yourself in the shoes of the reader to…

--

--

Andres Vourakis
Write A Catalyst

Data Scientist turned Solopreneur. Follow my journey to Financial Freedom. https://linktr.ee/avourakis