4 Small Adjustments That Helped Me Finally Get Noticed as a Writer

How I grew from 0 to 500 followers with no writing experience

Hazel Wai
Write A Catalyst
3 min readJun 5, 2024

--

Photo by Fujiphilm on Unsplash

No one used to read my stuff.

Honestly that kinda hurt a lot, but

I’ve discovered it’s not difficult to get readers. I’m excited about my writing future and I will love to earn as much as I can on medium .

I know this is not a overnight experience and I really don’t want it to be so. Slowly I feel in love with the journey of writing.

These are 4 simple adjustments that can potentially grow you a huge fan base

1. Write what readers want to read

This is might not be true for everyone but

You can write whatever you want but don’t complain if you have no readers. A mistake new writers make is deciding what a reader wants. I’ve written articles and it still amazes me what does well and what doesn’t.

And it might surprise you what readers want from you. You have more options than you imagine:

  • What you are learning right now
  • A transformational experience
  • Your industry expertise
  • A specific skill
  • A unique combination of the above.
  • mental health insights (gleamed from your daughter’s difficulties)
  • your current exploration of nutrition (you don’t know much but are exploring this)
  • your marketing background (20 years experience)

Go all in on what gets traction.

2. Become a mad scientist

Take a scientific approach to your writing. Scientists don’t worry about failure. They don’t assume they know anything. They do experiments. They learn from the results. Then build with more experiments.

  • write lots of content
  • analyse your best performers
  • develop a theory why they worked
  • apply that to your next content
  • rinse and repeat

Keep going around this learning loop.

And you’ll get better and better.

3. Quantity gives you higher advantage

My growth changed dramatically when I shifted from 1 article/week to 4.

There’s power in volume.

Creating more:

  • increases your odds of success
  • cures your perfectionist and imposter feelings
  • stops you trying to guess what will go viral (you are too busy writing!

Two articles at 85% quality beat one article at 100%.

Volume wins.

4. Delete, Edit, Repeat

Approach editing like a sculpturer.

Remove the excess marble to reveal your stunning work of art.

When you’ve written something. Take a break. Then read through it cutting all the fat. Shorten sentences by deleting unnecessary words. Look for sentences that rephrase what you’ve already said. They are not needed.

Most of my articles don’t exceed 1000 words. Ensure that it is concise and relevant. If necessary, consider splitting lengthy articles into two separate pieces to maintain readability and engagement.

Get rid of the filler so you’re quality can shine.

It takes a lot of little changes to become a compelling writer. And build your audience. But if I can do this. Anyone can.

Thanks for Reading

--

--

Hazel Wai
Write A Catalyst

Discipline| Hard work| Success. Join Newsletter for updates. Do you mind some Ko-fi? https://ko-fi.com/murthehelp