4 Types Of Writers

Which One Are You?

Tammie
Write A Catalyst
3 min readMay 30, 2024

--

Photo by Kenny Eliason on Unsplash

I have been taking a break from my published writing and focusing more on my writing goals, such as writing 200 words daily in my journal.

Aside from that, I’ve been working on my mental health, continuing my classes, I’ve started therapy, and I’m genuinely using this time to work on myself.

Yesterday, I came across a Podcast that stated the four types of writers.

  1. The One Liner:

The One-Liners Are the writers who brainstorm all day, have a minor breakdown, go for a jog, write one line, and call it a day.

2. The Procrastinwriter:

These writers will do anything to avoid writing. They can snack and stretch before a jog, but they never get around to jogging or writing, for that matter, until it’s almost too late, possibly right before a deadline.

3. The Non-Writer Writer:

The Non-Writer Writer stares at their curser on the computer or their pad of paper all day and thinks, an idea will come someday, somehow, any minute now…

4. The Writer Writer:

Wakes up at sunrise, sits down, churns out twelve pages without bathroom breaks, goes for a brisk run, and does it all over again the next day.

Photo by Sincerely Media on Unsplash

As a new writer, I think it’s possible to be a little bit of all of these writers.

Finding your writing groove and determining your position on the “writer spectrum” can be exciting and challenging.

It involves discovering your style, developing a routine, and overcoming self-doubt.

As I work on my writing goals, I find I’m somewhere between The One-Liner Writer and The Writer Writer.

It helps, knowing I’m currently only writing for myself.

Finding your writing groove is an ongoing process that may evolve as you grow as a writer, as is continued self-care.

Treat writing as a priority and make it a non-negotiable part of your schedule.

Trust your abilities, stay committed to the craft, and let your passion for writing guide you toward creating meaningful and impactful work.

Let me know in the comments what type of writer you are.

Happy Writing!

Thank you to all who read this to the end. Your continued love and support mean the world to me.

Feel free to offer some claps of encouragement while you’re at it. XOXO Tammie. 🙂

*Tammie is an aspiring health and life coach with a background in the school system. She has worked with kids from preschool through sixth grade and the SPED and library departments. She has three kids, two dogs, and one amazing husband. You can often find her sitting on her front porch and watching all the cool kids play in her yard. You can also find her at https://www.tammie-fralick.com.

--

--

Tammie
Write A Catalyst

Hi, I'm Tammie. I'm an aspiring Health and Life Coach with a background in all things children. 1x Boosted. You can find me at https://www. tammie-fralick.com