6 Lessons I Learned The Hard Way After 13 Years of Weight Loss.

Adrian V
Write A Catalyst
Published in
6 min readJun 12, 2024

--

Photo by Scott Graham on Unsplash

I made my choice when I was 18, when will you?

Standing at 5'9" and weighing 286 pounds, my life changed during my senior year’s beep test. I always hated gym class. As the fattest kid in my class, I was well aware of the giggles and glances from the other kids. But nothing compares to the humiliation I felt on the beep test.

I barely made it through the first minute before I started to feel lightheaded. My lungs burned, my legs felt like stone, and then everything went black.

I woke up lying on the gym floor, surrounded by the entire class. “Maybe if he skipped a few meals, he’d do better next time,” I felt my face flush with shame and anger.

Enough was enough, and I was tired of being a punching bag.

The first year was the worst. I started small, swapping soda for water and taking short walks throughout the day. I felt every pound as it slowly came off, each one representing a tiny victory. My mom would cheer me on, her face lighting up every time the scale showed a lower number.

By the end of my senior year, I was down to 250 pounds and felt like I was on top of the world.

College brought its own set of challenges. The cafeteria was a collection of temptations, and many light-night…

--

--