About Me — Afraid No More.

From Russia to Germany, from engineer to coach, from reader to writer.

Sergey V.
Write A Catalyst
4 min readAug 18, 2024

--

A profile picture of smiling author of the story.
Photo taken by author’s father.

Hey there! I’m Sergey, a 30-year-old engineer turned senior agile coach, and this is my story of blending cultures, overcoming challenges, and striving for happiness.

Who am I, really?

I’m a daydreamer who embraces his inner child daily. My core values: Happiness, calmness, respect, and empathy.

I value life, love self-discovery, and enjoy my coffee, even when it gets cold.

I believe in personal and intellectual growth and place a high value on family and friends. I appreciate diversity and strive to lead by example, discovering the world and enjoying the journey.

I get excited about new ideas quickly and lean towards strategic thinking over gut feelings. I take responsibility for my actions, believing in rising stronger after every fall.

I tend to sleep less, preferably without a pillow.

From Russia to Germany

Berlin is my home now, but I often think about my childhood in Sankt Petersburg

Playing football after school, being called home from the window, and dialing my best friend on a rotary phone are some of my oldest memories. I still remember his number, although I can’t recall my own now.

I remember the Neva River, white nights, and wandering the city with my mum.

Moving to Germany during my childhood was a turning point. I remember the journey by train, watching the landscape change, and arriving at the main station.

It felt like a small part of my childhood ended there, but it also marked the beginning of a new adventure.

During this time, my father’s warmth and support were very important.

I faced new challenges — adapting to a different culture, learning a new language, and making new friends, while carrying the love of my grandmother, the curiosity of my grandfather, and the openness from my mother with me.

Building a family

I met my wife in high school. We were friends for a long time but finally came together in our last year. Now, we live with our two children — a daughter and a son; both tornadoes with a lot of sunshine.

We also have a cat that completes our family… simply a tornado, no sunshine.

Life is busy. We’re trying to find the balance between surviving and thriving, but we wouldn’t have it any other way.

Academic and career path

It was a challenge moving to a different city right after school to study, leaving behind my family, friends, and home. It was like hitting the reset button on my life, but it helped me grow stronger and more mature.

It was worth it. I hold a B.Eng. in Mechatronics.

My work sparked my passion for team development and leadership. Few years later, I studied again: M.Sc. in Business Psychology. It was a great experience with fantastic people.

In my career, earning respect and being heard at a young age was a challenge. But I managed it.

For nearly nine years, I worked in transportation and logistics. I moved up from associate to project lead. I founded an expert network that grew from six to over seventy participants.

Seeking new challenges, I moved to software development. Now, I’m a Senior Agile Coach, passionate about empowering teams and transforming organizations.

Moving from a company I’d been with for such a long time was frightening, but it taught me resilience and the importance of staying calm and curious, no matter the circumstances.

Passions beyond work

Outside of work, I love reading both fiction and non-fiction. My favorite genre is fantasy, particularly the Cosmere universe by Brandon Sanderson.

Fitness is a big part of my life. But running and I share a love-hate relationship. Since our son was born, I’ve switched to home workouts. I’m currently training for a Spartan Race Trifecta.

Recently, I’ve discovered a passion for writing. It’s a way to express my inner world and share my journey.

My idea, The Way of a Good Human, is where I write down thoughts and insights from my life as a son, father, husband, friend, coach, and employee.

And I’m not afraid anymore.

I want to overcome my fear of raising my voice publicly and share my thoughts, lessons, mistakes, and insights. I want to inspire. I want to try, rise, and maybe fall, but that’s okay.

I write on Medium about life lessons, and business psychology.

That’s me.

Thank you for taking the time. If you’ve made it this far, and enjoyed what I’m sharing, follow me on Medium and connect with me on LinkedIn!

--

--

Sergey V.
Write A Catalyst

Engineer, psychologist, father, and coach. Sharing insights on life and business psychology. Editor at "Write A Catalyst."