About Me — I’m Still Learning to Push My Craft

Shadow Scribe
Write A Catalyst
Published in
3 min readJul 22, 2024
Photo by Super Snapper on Unsplash

I had second thoughts about publishing this. But here I am regardless.

Today, I would be attempting one of the hardest writing tasks I’ve ever done. This is hard because I will be vulnerable to a bunch of online strangers who hopefully I may not have to see offline. Smiles!

However, this piece is for those of you who are currently in my shoes. Yes, if you are a master of your craft, but only in your head or behind the four walls of your bedroom, then this is for you.

You have the talent and the desire to be recognized for your craft, but your cold feet keeps getting you stuck in the same position. You go online, as every other internet consumer, and see others with same quality of talent as yours, or even less . They’re out there on your timeline, but you are nowhere in public being heard. You hate it so much.

I feel you, because honestly I’m currently in that position too. The only difference however, between me and you right now, is that I’m making effort. Yes, I mean how else are you reading this piece if I wasn’t making efforts? Aha!

This is no motivational piece, or at least it’s not my intention to make it so. It is my story. Do with the information as you please.

Back to the title, I am still learning how to leave my comfort zone and push my craft. This is because I want to be heard. I feel I have information that will be valuable to a lot of people online. But;

1. I’m unsure of how to go about it

I remember wallowing in a thick cloud of uncertainty when I first started.

There were quite a number of top performing writers and content creators I had identified, who had so many tips and information to share. While I carefully absorbed their thoughts, I also became confused and unsure of how to start.

However, I am managing this right now by sticking to one mentor and following through their instructional set.

2. I’m afraid of starting what I can’t sustain

Oh, this definitely was the biggest factor holding me from pushing myself at first.

What if I run out of ideas? What if I lose motivation? What if I successfully build a large audience and don’t keep up with the content streak?

It’s honestly a lot of pressure thinking about that. But again, I am trying to mange this by taking my writing and publishing one day at a time. I’ve chosen not to look at the many days, months and years ahead of me.

3. I’m not comfortable being under the spotlight

This is ironic, I know. I mean, if I’m not comfortable being under the spotlight why bother to push my craft in the first place? lol!

However, like I mentioned at the introduction to this piece, I believe I have a lot of valuable information to share. I’d rather adjust to the discomfort attached to being under the spotlight while I ooze every valuable information I know, than remain in the dark and pass the world in silence.

I’ve got this!

To all the creatives out there who are uncertain and afraid of letting the world see the aura of their talent mine, I hope this inspires you to push. There’s so much blessing your art and craft can give to humanity, so don’t let it quench with you.

Just like me, start making efforts to push your craft no matter how little the steps you take.

Cheers,

Sonia.

--

--

Shadow Scribe
Write A Catalyst

I write on Non-fiction Book Summaries and Relatable Real-Life Stories