Adversity — The Great Teacher

Time for a personal essay

Arvind Suryakumar
Write A Catalyst
5 min readJun 28, 2024

--

Author generated image

After nearly 10 years of working for Amazon, I woke up one day to an impersonal email about my role being eliminated. Out of the blue, the news struck like a bolt of lightning. I loved my job. So the realization I wasn’t going to join my team the next day hollowed me out.

Was it something I did, or did not? I couldn’t recollect feedback that would have lead to such an outcome. I was even up for a promotion. Was I oblivious to certain signals? The questions came flooding with no answers in sight. The answers didn’t matter. The outcome wasn’t going to change.

In a knee jerk reaction I began rushing through potential roles I could quickly transition into. I could still transfer internally, so I emailed a few teams. But after dust settled, I began sifting the unproductive feelings from the useful ones. I slowed down and took stock of things.

Is this what I really wanted to do?

I realized that after two decades, I finally didn’t have to run a hundred miles an hour. My finances were healthy enough as a temporary backstop. I could for once sit and think about what I really wanted from my next adventure. And make time for things I had in the back-burner.

I was laid off on Amazon’s timeline; Now I was going to find my next role on my timeline

I immersed myself into reading and writing for pleasure. Connected with people I hadn’t in a long time. In the process, I mentored a few that were in similar cross-roads. And travelled. It was therapeutic, and gave me much needed perspective. When I was ready, I began looking for roles and engaging my network.

Over the next weeks, some offers came by, all with some sort of deal-breaker. The clarity from the time I took for myself gave me the strength to say no to offers that I’d otherwise settled for. And whenever self doubt crept in I relied on my support system to help me stay the course.

After what seemed like an eternity, an exciting opportunity came about. One that complemented my skills, offered the flexibility I was looking for, and a challenge that I was ready to take on. For the first time in my life, I was walking into a new role not with nervous excitement, but with a calm resolute.

Reflecting on these months, I can say that adversity remained my greatest teacher. Pushing me into comfortable places, posing difficult questions to reckon with, and strengthening me as I pursued clarity.

To all those grappling with the suddenness of a job loss, it’s not you, it’s them. Hang in there, and take it one day at a time. The embrace of adversity while thorny, brings fortitude.

As I embark on my next adventure (update to come soon), these are the core lessons adversity taught me, that I hope to keep close for a long time.

1. You are fungible

No matter how indispensable your role may make you feel, the business will continue with or without you. Your role exists to enable the business. There’s nothing personal about it.

2. Who you work for is not your identity

When you strip it away, what remains are the skills, knowledge, perspective and relationships you cultivated. Who you work for has nothing to do with your sense of self worth or identity. What you do with your life does.

3. Your mental health matters above all else

Taking time to develop healthy habits within and outside of work goes a long way in maintaining mental balance, especially when things turn rocky. For me, it was making time for loved ones, staying in the present and not taking myself too seriously.

4. It is not you, it is them

It is tempting to think your performance somehow contributed to the layoff. The reality is, your job loss was due to how your organization was managed. I was up for a promotion when I learned about the layoff. Remember, your role was eliminated, not you.

5. Keep learning

No domain is static. Whether you have a job or not, acquiring new skills and knowledge is the only way to continue staying relevant. Branch out from time to time, and learn about new areas that can complement your core skills.

6. Taking time for yourself is OK

Finding the next role quickly is great, but so is taking the time to reconnect with yourself, your family and your support system. It helps you figure out what you really want in your next role. For those on work visas, there are options to gain more time in the country. Contact an immigration professional.

7. Use your network

When you’ve decided what’s next, look for paths that align with your interests. Explore your network for folks that may have treaded that path; chat to learn their experiences. Leverage the network from your past role for references and recommendations.

8. Beware of the “career coaches” and “resume writers”

Most have no recruiting experience. And there isn’t much to resume writing beyond a google search for a clean template, spending some time to reflect on your past impact and penning them clearly and simply. Don’t overdo the use of ChatGPT to soup-up your resume.

9. Use more than one platform to search and apply for roles

LinkedIn is a great networking platform, but can be hit or miss when applying for jobs. Leverage platforms like Indeed to search and apply for jobs. I’ve observed a better response rate with platforms that are optimized to help recruiters connect with relevant candidates.

10. Layoffs are not a one-off occurrence

It is only logical to expect more layoffs. At its heart, workforce reduction is an exercise to improve the financial outlook of a company. The positive reactions from the stock market has reduced the sensitivity for companies to use layoffs as a balancing tool on a periodic basis.

--

--

Arvind Suryakumar
Write A Catalyst

I write about inspiring business and technology stories in Leadership with some Lavazza. Co-founder of Dream Canopy publications. https://dream-canopy.com