Are You Rewarding Yourself For The Efforts?

Breaking Free from the Mindset of Scarcity

Lee Drozak
Write A Catalyst

--

A person walking down a city street, window shopping and smiling, photorealistic, carefree, joyful, vibrant colors emphasizing warm tones, bright, sunny afternoon, wide shot capturing the person and the cityscape, people walking in the background, store windows displaying attractive items,
Image generated with AI by the author using Midjourney

Growing up, money was a little tight, and I learned the value of a dollar. If I wanted something, it was on me to figure out how to make it happen. I hustled babysitting, delivering papers (yes it was a thing), waitressing and more. That mindset of being frugal and dedicated became part of my DNA.

As I grew older and started earning my money, it was weird for me to watch my friends frivolously spend on things. I felt like I had missed out on learning some of life’s fun lessons.

Spending money on myself, for self-care and more was not something I did lightly.

Don’t get me wrong, I am so thankful that I learned the money management lessons I did. It has helped me tremendously in growing a profitable business, helping my husband to retire early and allowing me to take risks and chances others can not.

The Guilt of Spending

Every “unnecessary” expense felt like a betrayal to all the lessons I learned. A new MacBook? Five-star hotel? First class flights? Orchestra seats? These all felt a bit extra, even when they were clearly an investment in both my business and mental well-being. Learning how to treat myself as a necessity was a hurdle.

--

--

Lee Drozak
Write A Catalyst

I’m Lee, passionate about small business empowerment, minimalism, and building connections. My goal is to help you grow a location-independent online business.