Banter’s Legacy: Love Hidden in the Walls of a Museum

Divya
Write A Catalyst
Published in
3 min readApr 20, 2024

Just a walk through a museum can bring out amazing perspectives.

*A man walks into his house after a long day.

*Sighs* and sits down. A woman enters.*

Woman: Ah there you are! I have been looking for you all around the farm.

Man: For what?! You know how tiring today was. Ugh.

Woman: I know. I was collecting water from the well for the next storage. And

Man: Aah. Should I walk to that farther water pump again?? A man can never get a second to rest. Today the cattle were annoyingly fussy too. And now this. We won’t die without water for a day. Just go collect extra tomorrow and leave me alone. I want to take a nap.

*He exits the room in a rush to the bedroom.*

Photo courtesy: Author (Taken at Museum Henrik Christian Anderson, Rome, Italy)

*Woman angrily follows him behind.*

Woman: Oh, will you stop ranting! As if we, women, are lazing around. You know today, Cristina almost broke her hip trying to get a pail of water. The rest of us chipped in extra efforts to get her a fresh pail. Anyways…

Man: Alright, Alright. No more arguments on that. Now can you stop talking and give me peace?

*The woman tries to speak when there is a loud commotion outside. They both rush to the spot.*

Woman: Ah, Clothes exhibit! Finally, it reached our town!

Photo courtesy: Author (Taken at Museum Henrik Christian Anderson, Rome, Italy)

Woman: Did you know this exhibit displays traditional clothing that our ancestors wore for work in those days? Our neighbour Maria and I have been waiting so long to have a look at them!

Man: Here we go. Don’t we have enough unworn clothes collecting dust in our wardrobe? With this water shortage and the extra work we are doing nowadays, it’s a miracle we make ends meet. So don’t even think about it!

Woman: Oh shut up! Did I say that I am going to buy any? I want to look around. I am not that selfish to put our lives on hold.

Man: Ah thank goodness you have some brains. Look how much ever you want. See you an hour later. Oh wait, look at those checkered pants. It would be a perfect fit for me!

*He looks at his faded pants and sighs*

Woman: Wait!! You kept interrupting me and I forgot what I wanted to convey..

Hmm…

*Racks her brain*

Ah yes! I wanted to say that I have collected enough water for the rest of the week for us. Also, the broken water source will start functioning in two days. So we won’t have water problems anymore. You need not go searching for a fresh source in this scorching weather.

Man: What!! Wow, you collected enough for a week? How? And why didn’t you say this at the beginning?? I was exhausted just thinking about getting fresh water from the next town.

You keep blabbering nonsense and forget important ones. I can relax well now. Phew. Good work though.

Woman: Will you let me finish? I have saved some money from last week’s earnings and sold a few of my clothes to Maria. So we can get you those pants and a good shirt too.

*Man looks at her shocked*

Woman: Yeah yeah, don’t look at me like that. I only sold them since Maria kept annoying me about it. Not for you.

*Goes inside to get the cash with a smile. The man smiles to himself.*

Their love language was arguments!

--

--