Copy the Bedtime Routine I Use as a Full-Time Athlete That Promotes Better Sleep

The new routine I started has improved my sleep and recovery.

Kevin Shan
Write A Catalyst

--

Image Made Using MidJourney

I slept very well last night.

It was by no means the most optimal, as I got to bed at midnight due to a late-night meeting as a badminton coach, but I got a restful nine hours without any interruptions.

I’m typically a light sleeper. I wake up whenever someone in my family gets up and starts their morning routine.

That usually means I wake up at around 7–8 AM, regardless of when I slept, to the sounds of running water, light switch clicks, and creaking doors.

Last night, however, I slept through everything. I don’t remember hearing shower sounds, doors swinging, or footsteps above my room.

When I woke up, I checked my phone to see it was already 9:30 AM.

I slept a full nine hours without interruptions. The only thing that would have made it better was sleeping around 10 PM and waking up earlier.

I was surprised to get this restful sleep, but I do know how I got it.

For the last few days, I began a new bedtime routine that has drastically improved my sleep and recovery.

--

--

Kevin Shan
Write A Catalyst

Stock market analyst and athlete, writing about investing, self-improvement, and more. Subscribe to me here: https://bit.ly/3YMlCVC