Dear Internet, Please Don’t Look at Me.

On facing my fears and finding a way forward.

Sonan Alabi
Write A Catalyst

--

Photo by M.T ElGassier on Unsplash

I’ve been struggling with a dilemma recently.

Over the last few months, I’ve seen a lot of new people popping up and killing it here on Medium. Seeing so many creatives start and commit to their craft has inspired me to finally get off my ass and give this a proper shot.

But there’s one little problem: I don’t think I can create the type of content I enjoy writing.

Sounds confusing, I know, but hear me out.

The thing is — “How I write” is vastly different from “who I am.” Here’s what I mean by this.

What you’re reading right now is basically my stream of consciousness at this very moment. When I write, I write how I think or rather ‘as’ I think. As a result, I’m pretty much an open book.

The problem is, in reality, I’m actually the complete opposite.

Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

For as long as I can remember, I’ve been the type of person who only feels comfortable sharing my thoughts and feelings with people that I know deeply value or care about said thoughts and feelings.

--

--