Don’t Let Go! The Hug Mistake Every Parent Makes

Sergey V.
Write A Catalyst
Published in
2 min readJul 23, 2024
A father hugging his son.
AI-generated image by author (DALL-E)

You might be making a mistake when you let go of a hug too soon.

Being a father and taking care of two wild tornadoes, I can’t handle everything at once. I often rush through moments that deserve my full attention. A few years ago, I learned a great lesson. And it came from an unexpected source: Disney World.

Imagine: A child runs to their favorite Disney character (now, it would be Elsa for my daughter) and gets a warm hug. The magic lies in a simple (unofficial) rule: the character doesn’t let go until the child does.

This got me thinking about how I hug my kids.

Instead of pulling away too soon, I try holding on until they’re ready to let go. Small change, big impact.

It teaches me to slow down and connect with those I love.
It’s a gesture that says, “I’m here for you. I won’t let go until you’re ready.”

Think about it. How often do we rush through our day, barely making eye contact? The Disney hug reminds us to pause and be present. It’s about making someone feel seen and valued — something we all crave, no matter our age.

By holding on a little longer, you’re not just giving a hug. You’re offering comfort and love.

And this isn’t just for children. Imagine applying this to your spouse, family, friends, or even strangers who look like they need it.

A genuine hug can make us feel connected and valued.

So next time, don’t let go too soon. Hug until they’re ready (or wait at least for 5–10 seconds, according to this study).

And who knows? Maybe you’ll see a little bit of that Disney magic right before your eyes.

--

--

Sergey V.
Write A Catalyst

Engineer, psychologist, father, and coach. Sharing insights on life and business psychology. Editor at "Write A Catalyst."