Failure Helped Me Scale My Agency Business to 6-Figures…

And it can help your business grow too. Here’s how…

Joe Testouri
Write A Catalyst
3 min readJun 7, 2024

--

Image generated in PlaygroundAI

Failure often gets a bad reputation. But what if I told you it could be your secret weapon for scaling your business?

Think about it like learning to drive. When you first get behind the wheel, it’s all a bit overwhelming.

You stall the car, you miss a turn, and you might even get honked at a few times. But each mistake teaches you something, making you a better driver.

Running an agency is a lot like that. Instead of seeing setbacks as a sign to quit, consider them as valuable lessons. Each “failure” can guide you on what not to do, bringing you closer to success.

1. Analyse Your Setbacks

When things don’t go as planned, it’s crucial to take a step back and analyse what went wrong. Did your outreach campaign flop? Did a promising deal fall through? These moments are gold mines of information.

Ask yourself: why did that happen? Was the message not clear enough? Did you target the wrong audience? Did you follow up properly?

Pinpointing these weaknesses allows you to adjust your strategy and try again with a more refined approach.

2. Make Small Adjustments

Success often comes down to making small but significant changes. When I first started my agency, I faced my fair share of failures. But instead of letting them discourage me, I used them to refine my methods.

For instance, I realised that my initial outreach emails were too generic. By tailoring my messages to address specific pain points of potential clients, my response rate improved dramatically. Little changes like that helped me scale my agency to $20K+ MRR.

3. Embrace the Learning Process

Every entrepreneur faces setbacks. The key is to embrace these as part of the learning process. Remember, even the most successful business owners have stumbled along the way. They didn’t achieve success by avoiding failure, but by learning from it.

Consider this: Thomas Edison failed thousands of times before he invented the light bulb. He famously said,

“I have not failed. I’ve just found 10,000 ways that won’t work.”

That mindset is what separates those who succeed from those who give up.

4. Build Resilience

Facing failures head-on builds resilience. Each time you overcome a setback, you become more equipped to handle future challenges. This resilience is crucial for long-term success.

Think of it as building muscle. Every time you lift weights, you’re essentially breaking down muscle fibres. But as they repair, they grow back stronger. Similarly, each failure strengthens your business acumen and fortifies your determination.

Keep Pushing Forward

My best advice to any agency owner is simple: start and never stop. Keep pushing forward, even when it gets tough. There will be challenges and setbacks, but they are just part of the journey. One day, you’ll look back and say, “Wow, I made it. I can afford whatever I want now.”

Seek Support and Guidance

If you find yourself struggling, don’t hesitate to seek support. Sometimes, a fresh perspective can make all the difference. There are many successful agency owners who are willing to share their experiences and offer guidance.

Failure isn’t the end. It’s a stepping stone on the path to success. By analysing setbacks, making small adjustments, and embracing the learning process, you can turn failures into powerful lessons. These lessons will guide you towards building a successful, resilient agency.

If you’re looking for a way to scale your agency fast…

→ Check out my free $0 to $10K Agency Scaling Course.

--

--

Joe Testouri
Write A Catalyst

I share my agency knowledge to help you scale your agency business to $20K/Mo. The Founder of Bespoke Academy. Scaled my agency & coaching business to $40K/Mo.