For 15 Years, I was the Main Villain of My Own Story

KarthikxLucky
Write A Catalyst
Published in
2 min readApr 15, 2024

It’s time to be the Hero.

Everybody loves the hero.

He stands for justice; he cares for people

and most of all, he always wins.

That’s why heroes are so revered.

Among everyone else, I was too.

Assuming myself to be the hero.

Not of the world, no. But of my own life.

For 15 years, I naively thought so.

Until I saw my world crumble,

guess the one who’s dragging it?

Yeah, It was me.

With the strongest of ropes, I was pulling it down.

Unconsciously, of course.

So, Why was I a villain?

In fact, the “biggest villain”.

Because I was

BEING.

TOO.

NICE.

I have always been the Goody-Two-Shoes, for as long as I can remember.

I helped everyone, I was nice to everyone,

I put others above myself.

Author’s creation

I thought I was just kind and it’s just me.

(A terrible mistake, LOL.)

A mistake I took 15 years to Correct.

What did it take?

Nothing too huge, really,

My Life almost falling apart right in front of me.

It made me realize being nice to everyone

Hurts only one guy.

ME!!

I was done.

Fed up adjusting to everyone.

It’s time to go from Villain to Hero of my own story.

Life needs compromises, I admit.

But Compromises should not become your LIFE.

So, what did I do? I quit.

A Fear of Being Stuck in a single place haunted me.

Also the fact that the job I did had nothing in common

with what and where I wanted to be

I resigned and here I am!

Looking forward to my new adventure.

(Business and Administration, here I come!!)

P.S. Don’t ever be too nice. Unless you wanna lose yourself.

--

--

KarthikxLucky
Write A Catalyst

Sharing the Lessons I Learned on Self-Improvement, Productivity, and Mental Health in my newsletter: https://lessons-to-self.beehiiv.com/subscribe