Poem

Girl At The Rock Show

Falling for a crush

AC0040
Write A Catalyst

--

Photo by Antoine J. on Unsplash

I arrived at Helena’s rock show
later than I’d wanted to.
Strobe lights cycled through
an array of bright colors.
I left a client who needed an ear.
I glanced at my watch
and had to cut his pity party short.
Helena formed a rock band
in college-and made pretty good money.
Some songs even played on the radio.
I entered the arena to a cloud
of smoke, pot, or cancer sticks,
which I didn’t know.
Guys threw back beers
like tomorrow’s styles,
which consisted of the recycled
compassion they’d needed.
Women scantily dressed brushed
off advances from googly-eyed men.
Tight jeans and knee-high boots
with low-cut shirts that’d make even a priest blush.
Slick roads and cars wrecked
on either side of the freeway
unraveled my appreciation for punctuality.
Helena sang the lyrics we wrote together
under the stars last autumn.
A smile formed in my eye before a tear
reached my lips.
Helena cupped her brows
for the apple of her eye,
scanning the crowd for me.
Our soul’s windows connected,
and she gave me a confident wink.
Helena stole my breath
before I caught my tongue
and drowned out
a chorus of applause.
I clapped over those
guys with fawning eyes,
wanting to sleep with her.
Helena bowed on stage.
I swooned at Helena, intrigued
by the cold shoulder her mother gave her.
Helena motioned for calm.
The chattering lowered to a whisper.
Holidays are for families, she said.
Helena’s family disapproved
of our interracial relationship.
I wanted to marry three years ago.
But she said if she sang the song, she just sang
that she was ready for marriage.
“I do,” Helena said. “You know who you are, and I do.” Helena brushed a tear away.
She climbed off the stage and approached me.
She jumped into my arms, kissing me until we twirled onto the ground.
We laughed hard.
People clapped.
“My momma’s gonna hate us,” Helena said, kissing me between laughter.
“I’ll wear it as a badge of honor.”
“I love you.” Helena nuzzled into my arms.
I pushed myself to my feet, extended my arm,
and guided her with my hand upright.
I’ll hold her upright and balance her forevermore.

(© 2024 AC)

--

--

AC0040
Write A Catalyst

U.S. Army Veteran. Paratrooper. Runner. I write short stories and poems.