How I Freed My Mind by Letting Go

Yes, it’s hard, but you have to move on

Naveen Thangavel
Write A Catalyst
2 min readApr 20, 2024

--

Photo by M Venter

Yesterday, while I was in the shower, I realized I had missed a few important tasks.

I don’t know how I missed them.

Why is my memory so poor lately?

When I asked myself this question, I came up with a few answers.

Is it because of poor sleep?

Is it because of having too many tasks to complete in a day?

Is it because of overthinking?

I can’t go with only one; it would be the combination of these three things that affected my mind. So, how can I overcome this situation? Read on.

There are a lot of things happening in a day; problems keep arising. One day is not enough to handle everything.

Stress plays a crucial role in our lives. If you fail to handle it properly, it affects your health, mind, work, and relationships.

Last week, when my friend asked me what I had for lunch, I got stuck for a minute and couldn’t recall. Clearly, I was not mindful while eating, and there were a lot of things on my mind.

The Art of Letting Go.

Letting go of our negative thoughts seems like a simple thing, but it’s definitely not.

Sometimes, no matter what you try, you can’t let go of a few things; they keep coming back.

The real reason behind this is that you’ve tried so hard to achieve something, or you feel like you’ve come a long way, and if you let go now, all your efforts will be wasted.

Your reasons look valid now, but after some years, they might not be true because life is full of surprises.

I often look back on my life and the things I have worried about a lot in the past, thinking it was the end of the world, but they now seem like smaller, passable moments. So, there is a high possibility that this too will pass.

Having this positive mindset and practicing meditation helped me let go of my negative emotions.

In the morning and evening, I practice box breathing meditation.

For those who don’t know about it, here are the simple steps:

Take a deep breath and slowly exhale.

Close your eyes and inhale slowly through the nose for four seconds.

Hold your breath for four seconds.

Slowly exhale for four seconds.

Hold your breath again for four seconds.

Congratulations, you’ve completed your first round; repeat this for three more rounds.

Life opens new doors for you all the time, so don’t worry about closing a single door now. You have the power to change anything, and all you need to do is trust yourself.

If you enjoyed this article and want to support my writing, click this link to get notified whenever I publish something new.

--

--

Naveen Thangavel
Write A Catalyst

Business Analyst | Trader | YouTuber: Writing about self-help, psychology, meditation, and financial freedom.