How To Eat Easter Eggs Laid By A Hare

Dr. Lutz Kraushaar
Write A Catalyst
Published in
3 min readMar 31, 2024

--

Image designed by Dr Lutz E. Kraushaar ©

Germany prides itself on being the “land of bards and brains” (Land der Dichter und Denker). But come Easter, and, as a kid, I cannot be so sure about the “brains” part anymore.

Adults tell us that a rabbit has laid eggs into faux birds’ nests and hidden them in blind corners throughout the house. I mean, seriously?

Even for my four-year-old sister (she is a girl, btw), this story is so full of catches, that we question the adults’ sanity or whether they might have had a little too much eggnog.

At the advanced age of five, going on 25, I have serious issues with the whole thing. But I don’t want to question the adults too much. You never know how such incredulity might affect next year’s yield of chocolate eggs. And I really like them—the eggs, I mean.

So, my sister and I (she is still a girl, which I, as the responsible man of the house, need to mention) play along. Of course, we know the best hiding places in the house, because we need to hide all sorts of things throughout the year, not just on Easter. But we pretend to have to scratch our heads about where the Easter Hare has left the loot. When we “accidentally” find it, we make quite some hoohaah. The adults’ happy faces…priceless.

The fact that there are 10,000 sugar calories in each nest doesn’t worry us. We are four…

--

--

Dr. Lutz Kraushaar
Write A Catalyst

PhD in Health Sciences, MSc. Exrx & Nutrition, International Author, Researcher in decelerating biological aging. Keynote Speaker and Consultant.