How To Take Care of Your Mental Health

Lane Walker
Write A Catalyst
Published in
4 min readMar 27, 2024

--

Photo on Unsplash by Marcel StrauB

I’ve written a ton of articles about mental health. Talking about it in general, about how it can affect you, how it can affect others, all of it. I always end up talking about how you need to take care of your mental health but haven’t actually talked about how to do that.

So, that’s what this article is going to be about. These are 5 steps that I have taken to help take care of my mental health.

As usual, this article is what has helped me. These are steps I took that made sense to me. This isn’t a road map or a one-size-fits-all method. Some of these things could help, but some of them may need to be changed to fit you. Hopefully, it gets you thinking about what you need.

1.) Get Help

Everyone needs help sometimes. There is nothing wrong with needing help or asking for help. We are all human and all need help sometimes.

The great thing about therapy is you can decide how often to go. You may need to go every week, every other week, once a month, once every couple of months. Whatever works for you.

I am a firm believer that everyone can benefit from therapy. Some people need more intensive therapy, some people need to learn certain skills in therapy, and some people just need a non-biased person to talk to. There is a therapist for everyone.

--

--