I Have Decided Writing Short Articles

Chung Yuen Keong
Write A Catalyst
Published in
4 min readMar 21, 2024

A short article attracts readers’ attention.

the readability of a short article is high.

Readers expect to read a short article with vivid and captivating language.

Image created by the Author (Vombo Dream & Picsart)

I love writing short articles because I know I can write it well. However, when I planned my first article to post on Medium’s page, I wondered how many words I should write.

Medium’s page does not have a strict word limit for short articles. The final length of an article typically depends on various factors like the topic, target audience, and the writer’s style. If the story is essential, Medium recommends writers compose articles ranging from 700 to 1600 words to attract readers.

So, how short is considered a short article on Medium’s page?

Writing a short article on Medium’s page

Per Medium, an article of 500 to 700 words is considered short. A short article typically focuses on a single topic that arouses the readers’ interest. The language and content of a brief article must be precise and easily understandable.

Medium assumes a short article takes around 4 minutes to read, while an 800-word article should take approximately 5 minutes. Therefore, I aim to keep the reading time of my article between 4 to 5 minutes. There is a higher read rate when an article is short.

Can a short article attract readers’ attention?

Advice for short articles from the writing professor

A writing professor emphasizes that good writers should Keep their articles short. Cracking a joke, he says good writing should be like a mini skirt: long enough to cover the important part but short enough to grab attention. He advises against using unnecessary words in writing, as it loses readers and fails to get published.

I have decided to write short articles

As a beginner on Medium, I prefer to start with short articles because it is easy to write an article between 700 and 800 words. By doing so, l spend less time and effort writing an article. Again, it is easy for me to edit and publish it.

Besides, I have three important reasons to write short articles:

My First reason

The foremost reason for writing short articles is for the fast-paced world today. People prefer easily accessible facts that are readily available and do not require much time and effort to search for them. People choose to read short articles that convey essential information. Therefore, a skilled writer should be able to craft an impactful article in brevity.

My Second reason

Secondly, the readability of a short article is high. My greatest challenge in writing a short is to clear the clutter in my writing by cutting words and yet give the brief passage an impact. For this reason, I always make sure the words I use are meaningful. Hence, I will stop writing once I have expressed my point. It is unnecessary to insert more words when I can use fewer words to express myself fully. An excellent article does not need to be lengthy. If I stuff my article with meaningless words to reach the word count, I will lose my audience.

My third Reason

Thirdly, I can write more short articles in a shorter time. Writing, writing, and writing make progress in my writing. Therefore, writing short articles is an excellent way to hone writing skills and increase the production of regular publications.

All this while, I talk about the writer. What do the readers expect from short articles?

What do readers want to read?

Readers expect to read a short article with vivid and captivating language that enables them to visualize the story. They want to read a well-structured short article with a clear introduction, a well-developed body, and a compelling conclusion. People dislike reading an article with many spelling, grammatical, and punctuation errors.

Also, it is imperative to know that readers are yearning for exclusive and valuable information that they cannot easily find elsewhere. I should offer my readers fresh and enlightening content in my short article.

The takeaway

I, a writer, must convey a clear message to my audience. I should strive to provide helpful solutions to my readers’ problems. I must also read and re-read my article several times to ensure that the words I use are appropriate and the sentences are well-constructed. Additionally, I must check for any spelling and grammatical errors before submitting my work.

Thank you for taking the time to read my story.

To read my articles on Medium, please follow me and subscribe to my emails:

fredchung2012@gmail.com

If you want to become a member of Medium, please go through my referral link at:

https://medium.com/me/stories/drafts

--

--

Chung Yuen Keong
Write A Catalyst

I am the editor of The LOve Pub. I enjoy writing ghost stories. At the same time, I write love, relationship, children's stories, and poems on my Medium blog.