I Healed When I Listened to My Body

Diary of a Thirty Something
Write A Catalyst
Published in
3 min readMar 6, 2024

--

Photo by Noah Buscher on Unsplash

My first job after graduation was hectic. I had to monitor the web 24/7. I used to sleep monitoring and wake up to report that monitoring.

Yet I didn’t feel that bad, because I was practicing what I studied. Plus I was neither appreciated nor discouraged. The management didn’t seem that bad.

Anyhow, after a year I noticed a crazy amount of hair fall and bald patches. All that hair in my shower was bothering me. To top all that, I blamed myself for not caring enough. I blamed myself for not oiling my hair or I blamed my hair shampoo for not doing its job.

I have been a healthy person throughout my life. I’ve had my sick days too but they came rarely.

I started working again on some other job. It was stressful too. My boss was the most horrible person on planet Earth. I realised that I was constantly ignoring myself to get the work done. I was still not taking good care of my body like I should have, but my forgiving body was working just fine. My hair grew out and I was eating fine.

Then came the eating disorder days.

While working for that horrible boss, I came to a point where I stopped eating out of stress. I was so depressed that I didn’t know what was happening around me. I went to work, returned from work and went to sleep. During that period, I lost around 5 kgs.

I completed my contract tenure with the horrible boss company and decided to take a break. At the end of it all, I had severe pain in my joints. I was losing hair, my hair got so thin. I suddenly became this horrible, negative person that my family had to tolerate.

After a few weeks, I decided to work on my health without the help of a doctor.

At that point, I looked like a baboon because of all that facial hair and weight gain. My hormones were not working fine, and I was sleeping over the whole situation. I was roaming around the house, jobless. When I googled my symptoms, I found out that I had PCOS. I looked up certain natural remedies and tried them too. I took vitamin D for my joint pain along with Calcium tablets. This was the only self-medication that worked.

My joint pain was gone within one to two weeks. But the hair situation was not improving.

When no internet remedy worked, I decided to get everything properly checked. I went to a gynaecologist, who told me to check my thyroid levels.

To my surprise, I had hypothyroidism. It affected my hormones, cycles, weight, facial hair and even my mental health.

It's been more than 3 months that I’ve been following the doctor's prescriptions. I lost around 4 kgs. To top all that, I feel so optimistic all the time.

All because I decided to take the first step to wellness.

If my story resonates with you, feel free to leave a comment.

--

--

Diary of a Thirty Something
Write A Catalyst

Marketing Geek. I believe your stories help you build the best possible brand.