I Took Cold Shower For 30 Days, This is What Happened

Pain, agony, and torture

Elle Cheron
Write A Catalyst

--

Image generated using ChatGPT

For 26 years, cold showers have been my biggest enemy.

It’s excruciating, skin-numbing, and BEYOND uncomfortable.

But today, I completed 30 days of cold showers. WOOHOO!

Plot twist: it was only half voluntary.

Here’s how it went down…

My experience in 1 min

Since learning the benefits of cold showers, I’ve always fantasized about being a cold shower-er.

But no. I’m a pus… coward.

I lost count of the number of times Andrew Huberman said “cold exposure” in my ears (that’s me attempting to convince myself that it’s great for me so I’d do it.)

Still… NOPE.

But hey I’m not entirely hopeless — I took a few cold showers in the past. But the experience was so brutal that I always gave up the next day.

That was until…

January 2024

My heater died.

Well, not entirely. It still works if we hold the switch at a certain angle with a tape.

I used the tape for a few days and thought: “This is a good chance for me to overcome my

--

--

Elle Cheron
Write A Catalyst

Sharing insights on my interests: intentional living & writing. Like the same things? Come along for the ride. :)