I Want To Read Writing That Rattles My Soul

Words by Egypt
Write A Catalyst
Published in
2 min readApr 19, 2024

The tremendous bliss of heartfelt prose

The kind of writing that dulls my heart, and numbs my mind…

Soul-detached and prescriptive self-improvement “tips”.

Writing that’s about earnings. Please show me the nearest exit now.

Writing that’s about the best single way to write and express ourselves. There isn’t one.

Writing devoid of a personal voice, let’s gift the world with our stories shall we?

Writing that is a disguised sales pitch or marketing piece. I mean seriously?

The kind of writing that rattles my soul….

Personal narratives, and reflective writing that shares personal experiences and insights with the world.

Writing that warmly invites me to come into the mind of the writer, take a seat, and reflect on our common shared human experience or pain.

Writing that is rough around the edges, blunt, sometimes harsh yet real. That evokes anger, stirs an emotional riot, or wakes me out of my life daze.

Writing that is painfully vulnerable, where the writer is not afraid to bear his or her raw heart to the world.

Writing that has soul, a strong voice or opinion, and isn’t afraid to take a stand on things. Please jump off that fence.

I want to read writing that stirs a storm within me, makes me question, and wonder, and dissolves the walls in my mind a little.

I want to read writing that rattles my soul

“If something inside of you is real, we will probably find it interesting, and it will probably be universal. So you must risk placing real emotion at the center of your work. Write straight into the emotional center of things.

Write toward vulnerability. Risk being unliked. Tell the truth as you understand it. If you’re a writer you have a moral obligation to do this. And it is a revolutionary act — truth is always subversive.”― Anne Lamott, Bird by Bird

--

--

Words by Egypt
Write A Catalyst

Essayist, Poet, and Writer. Dancing at the intersection of words and thoughts. https://ko-fi.com/wordsbyegypt