I Went Viral on TikTok with a Short Horror Story and it was Hilarious

Emy Quinn
Write A Catalyst
Published in
3 min readApr 10, 2024

--

Credit to Black smartphone showing time at 12 00 photo — Free Tiktok Image on Unsplash

I do not care about TikTok. I’ve never liked the app, I feel that too many dumb people are on there, that desperately want attention or clout. Then I asked myself: “Why not make an account for the hell of it?”

I decided to create an account to post short horror stories. For entertainment purposes, and to see if I could actually gain a following.

It actually worked.

I started off slow, like many people do in the beginning. Then one of my horror stories went viral on the app. A horror story that I never expected to peak everyone’s interests. A simple story about two little girls who took a photo with their dead mother.

This was obviously a fake story, because I would never post a real image of an actual crime or death. I’m not desperate for views.

Then the video skyrocketed to 3.1 million views.

It was viral for two weeks straight, and I gained 4,500 followers.

Then the debate of whether the video was real or not occurred with my new followers and other commentors.

I couldn’t believe that 447 strangers argued over the video. They went back and forth with each other…

--

--

Emy Quinn
Write A Catalyst

Horror Enthusiast. Dog lover, love reading books, like to draw, I upload horror shorts on social media, and I love to write mini horror stories.