Writing | Writing Tips | Writer | Novel Writing

I Wrote 10,000 Words in 24 Hours

The commitment to my novel has surpassed my expectations

Ross Derbyshire
Write A Catalyst
Published in
3 min readApr 2, 2024

--

AI Image Created Using Microsoft Designer. There’s a lot of words on that clock. I’d say about 8,374. Oh, spoiler warning.

What do you get when you cross an avid writer, a man determined to write his first novel and a recovering social media whore?

That’s right, the article-isation of the novel writing process.

When 10,000 words isn’t enough you write an article about it.

Why?

Because you can!

Now, this was meant to be my first article of April. The plan was to have an entire month of nothing but novel writing updates, tips/tricks, ramblings etc. starting with this.

As is usual, things didn’t go according to plan and now this article is 002 for the month.

Article 001 is below. In case the title and subtitle wasn’t subtle enough, please think before actually reading. If you don’t think you can handle that kind of thing at the moment then do yourself a favour and just don’t click.

You don’t owe me a read, you don’t owe me anything…

--

--

Ross Derbyshire
Write A Catalyst

A man on a mission to fulfil the promise of his 8 year old self by becoming a writer