If You Can’t Forgive Them, Read This

You are the one paying the greater price

Tristan Tell
Write A Catalyst

--

Joao Jesus via Pexels

Are there people in your life you can’t forgive?

Is the pure thought of them enough to make your heart race, your fists clench, and your blood boil?

A few weeks ago, I met a person that had treated me terribly and caused me great amounts of pain.

When they recognized me, they approached me with a timid smile. I did not smile back.

Their wrongdoings were too great.

I refused to forgive them.

They tried to start a conversation, but I excused myself and walked away. The hurt look on their face offered me a twisted kind of satisfaction.

They had tried to reconnect in the past, but I had blocked off all attempts.

I was hurt first, and I wanted them to pay for it.

Is holding a grudge worth it?

Holding a grudge is a great way to punish.

When someone treats you badly, you are in a passive position. You were betrayed.

Refusing to forgive, however, puts you in a position of control again.

You betrayed me, and I repay you by ignoring you and showing you my contempt.

--

--