I’m a Non-Native English Speaker — So What Is Your Excuse?

Orenholis
Write A Catalyst
Published in
2 min readFeb 27, 2024

Non-Members of medium you can read here

Image by wirestock on Freepik

“A different language is a different vision of life.”

- Federico Fellini

I’m not from an English-speaking country. You may have noticed when reading my stories. Despite this, I think it’s my advantage.

My English is not as good as someone born to a family speaking English. Still, I’m making most of this on Medium.

As I don’t so many English phrases and words. My writing is not fancy, catching, metaphoric and probably wouldn’t satisfy any book reader (including myself).

However, this can also be an advantage. I don’t have to learn how to simplify my language. It’s simple enough already.

Thanks to this I can attract easily more people who don’t speak English natively. We understand each other with our limited word knowledge.

And bonus for people who are skilled in English they can read my stories easily. Don’t have to think about it much.

All of this I’m using to improve my writing. So what is your excuse not to write?

Thanks for reading till the end

Image by Joshua Earle

I hope you have enjoyed this article and will follow me on my journey.

See you in my other stories!

--

--

Orenholis
Write A Catalyst

Young writer writing about ideas, how to improve your writing, money, and self improvement.