POETRY

In This Skin

A poem

Orion 𖤐
Write A Catalyst

--

I got nothing from this world,
but the peace of my skin.

I can go out and roam about,
as freely as I please.

Wander the streets at my whim,
slip through gaping holes, and never be seen;

stand in plain sight and never be seen.

A shadow without a form,
a silhouette against pitch black.

a thief in broad sun.

I often wonder,
what those with fame might trade,
for a single day,
in my life as a stray.

What would they pay
for just one day,
in this simple body,
as a nobody?

A faceless face, in a sea of others just like me.

With no faux smiles,
or twinkling eyes…

No need to hide,
no camera’s in sight,
for just a while.

A day in the life,
in this skin worth no disguise,
might be worthwhile,
to those with far more than I.

Thanks for reading!

--

--

Orion 𖤐
Write A Catalyst

Writer looking for an Ah-ha moment in a Nah-ah world.