Is Nail Polish On Men Normal Now?

My experience

Joel V
Write A Catalyst

--

Author’s image

Throughout my life, I’ve faced a stigma.

This was the belief that men wearing nail polish was somehow “gay” or “unmanly.”

During my school years, I faced ridicule for not fitting into the box of what was “normal.”

However, I quickly learned that not reacting to the taunts often led to them giving up.

Nail polish, for me, became a conversation starter with girls; we could chat about top and base coats, and it fit the punk aesthetic I was aiming for.

Times changing

As I’ve grown older, I’ve noticed this stigma fading, if not vanishing entirely.

I don’t receive as many odd looks for my painted nails these days.

Occasionally, people still stare, but it could be because of my tattoos, piercings, or nail polish perhaps all three.

It depends on who you ask. My brother, for instance, still disapproves, simply stating,

“We don’t wear that.”

In our culture, my appearance is quite unconventional, making me somewhat of an outsider.

The bigger picture

--

--

Joel V
Write A Catalyst

Writing about whatever comes to mind: fleeting thoughts, stillness moments, and everyday life's beauty.