Is Writer’s Block a Real Thing?

MartinRaymondo
Write A Catalyst
Published in
1 min readJul 12, 2024
Pencils in your hair are what happens when you have writer’s block — photo created by the author using Copilot

Do people need help with writing or gathering words onto a page?

I’ve never experienced writer’s block except when I tried writing out of my comfort zone.

If you made me write a political book, I’d probably take seven years to finish. Still, you make me write almost anything else, which comes naturally, and it’s easy enough.

Does writer’s block affect your ability to write anything or simply the subject you’re currently writing?

If so, change subjects for a day and see what happens.

I can write a hundred articles some days, but others are more challenging. Nothing too extreme, and if I’m stuck on an article, I scrap it quickly rather than allow myself to get stuck.

Momentum is a powerful thing that works both ways, so you want to avoid negative momentum.

You can get stuck in your head, which makes things even more difficult. This happened to me in golf a while back with my putting, and it was hell. I had to learn to let go and not care, which is much more complicated.

Maybe people with writer’s block need to try this method.

--

--