Losing 12 KGs — Day 1

Starting the Series and the Day 1 Challenges and Emotions.

Mehak Adlakha
Write A Catalyst
2 min readApr 25, 2024

--

I wrote this story on 18th April, 2024:

And I was enthusiastic to hit a gym ASAP.

I finally managed to hit the gym again after 3 long years on April 23rd, i.e., the day before yesterday.

Why I am writing this blog series?

It gives me immense happiness and mixed emotions to share some initial days and further progress of my journey.

I am not sure how long I will continue this, but as long as I do, I want all of you to be part of it. I will be honest and unbiased while sharing all my thoughts and progress.

I have joined the gym with my father, who aims to lose 40 kgs alongside me.

Together, we’ll rise and fall through the ups and downs of this journey!

Day one in the gym was amazing. I was a bit hesitant, not sure what to do, but Dad stuck around.

Aerobics and Yoga

Photo by bruce mars on Unsplash

We started with the one-hour aerobics and yoga session held daily at the gym from 07:00 to 08:00 AM.

At 07:07 AM, within 7 minutes, my head started spinning. My body wasn’t accustomed to this, so it reacted.

I took a break, had my glucose water, and then resumed.

Dad and I took several breaks because we couldn’t keep up with the multiple sets of every exercise, and the trainer advised us to continue at our own pace for a few days.

Afterwards

Afterwards, I could only manage a 5-minute session on the treadmill at a speed of 4, and a 1-minute indoor cycling session.

Then, we left.

Post-Gym Reactions

We were both tired and happy, overwhelmed by finally starting something we had procrastinated on for so long.

The rest of the day was active, and we didn’t even feel much pain.

Photo by Bruno Nascimento on Unsplash

Success!

If you liked this content, kindly drop 50 claps! 😊

Subscribe here to never miss any updates from the author.

--

--

Mehak Adlakha
Write A Catalyst

26 | Owner of 'The Live. Love. Laugh Pub' | Software Engineer @ Microsoft, India | Tech Explorer and Life Enthusiast.