Maybe success is waiting for you too.

Geetanjali Singh
Write A Catalyst
Published in
3 min readMay 28, 2024
Photo by the blowup on Unsplash

Yesterday was one of those days when my mind and my body refused to co-operate and I blame it on myself for all of it.

I have been training my mind to wake up early and I have understood that my body and my mind function the best when I begin my day quite early, yet yesterday I decided to hit snooze and slept in for long hours.

And as a result, my entire day collapsed.

My biggest critic came in the form of myself when this morning I hit the snooze button again, my body immediately went into a state of frenzy and reminded me of the previous day.

The episode was alone enough to jolt me out of my bed.

I have often wondered how people are born with innate talent. Growing up I wasn’t skilled in any. As a kid, I would work 2x harder than anyone else to succeed, and as a result, hard work was my calling.

At times I would still wonder how it felt to have natural talents or maybe I’m yet still discovering secrets that exist within me.

Yet I have realized that sadly sometimes hard work alone is not sufficient.

There are days when hard work pays off only after years of effort and the process of reaching up to success can be heart-wrenching.

You lose shades of yourself and find new shades that fit your soul.

You cry, cry, and cry some more until your reserves are depleted.

You watch people marching their way to success and you cannot help but contemplate what went wrong with everything you had planned.

Maybe it’s not me, you whisper to yourself.

Maybe I’m not meant to ride the tide of success you say.

Yet you cannot help but hope. Hope that someday your tide changes and the world freezes with you buzzing everywhere.

Much before typing this piece, I watched a few clips on Nancy Tyagi’s famous podcast on how her first appearance at the Cannes festival made the cut.

Hard work is what was depicted in her podcast.

Her only goal was to work hard enough to earn some money to help her mother quit her job in a factory.

Her voice crackles at the mention of her mother as if a slideshow of her mother’s struggles flashes through her soul.

She spoke about how all the struggles she endured up till the point of success were worth it.

It made me rethink that maybe it’s okay to be a natural hustler. Maybe it’s okay to not possess any innate talents or maybe they are going to surge when it’s the right time.

But what I do know is that surely hard work never goes in vain. It does compound over time and when it hits you, the gravity of it would leave you in a daze.

Your only job is to show up every day wholeheartedly and put in the efforts you regularly do and who knows maybe just maybe, success is waiting for you too :)

Hey, thanks for reading.

I’ll see you soon :)

--

--