Me and my silence

Arpan Kaur
Write A Catalyst
Published in
2 min readJun 4, 2024
Photo by M. on Unsplash

Late nights shadows surround,

Bury my feet into the ground,

Me and my silence talk to each other,

We cry, we shout, we scream,

Break together like a broken dream.

My silence repeats the same old story,

The one where I lost my glory..

Over and over,

Drunk and sober,

Mortifies me in front of these walls,

That mock me again.

Gosh! Same old pain.

My melancholy beats within like a second heart.

Seeps into my veins and tears me apart,

Late nights, when the city dreams,

Walls laugh at my morbid screams.

Me and my silence stare out the windows,

Dream of a life over the clouds.

Wild and free

My silence speaks to me.

We battle with the mirror never finding who’s on the other side.

Who that is and who that was,

Who stares with dead eyes across that glass,

And then we slide,

Into the abyss of the mind,

Looking for the old me, with new maimed eyes.

Me and my silence.

Over and over,

Drunk and sober…

Think about what a spell my demons cast.

One foot ahead and one still stuck in the past.

We wonder how long this will last!

Then in the shadows we weep,

Soothe each other by the morning and go to sleep…

--

--

Arpan Kaur
Write A Catalyst

Feeling my way through the darkness, guided by a beating heart, Can’t tell where the journey will end, But I know where to start….