Medium is the best teacher to stay motivated while dealing with rejection

Ellie Kingswell 🐑
Write A Catalyst
Published in
4 min readMar 10, 2024

--

Your favourite writers got rejection letters too.

Medium is the best teacher to stay motivated when dealing with rejection
Medium is the best teacher to stay motivated when dealing with rejection (Image by Melpomenem on Getty Images)

Write yourself lucky!

If you’re anything like me, you probably feel like you’re writing to the void.

A bit like you’re on a mission gone wrong. Floating in space without hope of being heard or found in the vast darkness.

Or perhaps you feel like Grizabella the Glamour Cat stuck on a neverending loop of “Being all alone in the moonlight.”

Small caveat: I feel like I’ve been characterised as an obsolete cat in real life (one Macavity clawed at to climb to the top of the scratching post).

I digress! But I would like to think we’re all here seeking acceptance from the other Jellicle cats on Medium.

My journey so far

I’ve been on the platform for five weeks today.

I would usually mark Sunday with a stats report, but instead, I think it’s more important to address the ups and downs of existence.

Instead of ignoring my hobgoblins, I would rather expose them in the hope they’ll lose their power by lancing the boil and drawing out “Beetlejuice.”

--

--

Ellie Kingswell 🐑
Write A Catalyst

Ellie's mission is to inspire like-hearted writers and content creators one word at a time.