My Journey as a Writer:

Parin Waljee
Write A Catalyst
Published in
3 min readFeb 8, 2024

Sailing the Seas of Creativity

Photo by Andrew Neel on Unsplash

Embarking on a writing journey is like setting sail on a vast and unpredictable sea. As I reflect on my writing journey to date, I find myself surrounded by memories of calm waters and fierce storms, each of which helped shape my career and character.

Like many aspiring writers, my journey began with a spark of inspiration, a desire to translate the world and characters that swirled in my imagination onto a blank canvas of paper or screen. At the time, writing was a solitary activity, a sanctuary where I could explore my thoughts and feelings without fear of judgment. I tried many different forms and genres, from short stories to poetry, trying to find my voice among the cacophony of words. As I honed my craft, I encountered the first of many challenges: self-doubt’.

The blank page became both my canvas and my opponent, taunting me with its emptiness. Yet through every word I wrote, I discovered within myself a source of resilient strength, a determination to persevere despite whispers of doubt.
 
One of the most transformative moments in my journey came when I dared to share my work with others. Opening myself up to criticism is a daunting prospect, but it’s also a necessary step in my growth as a writer. Through feedback and constructive criticism, I learned to look at my writing with a clear eye, identify its strengths and weaknesses, and see the revision process as a means of screening.
 
However, writing is not simply a solitary activity; it is also a journey of connection. Over time, I found myself drawn to a community of fellow writers—individuals who shared my passion and understood the difficulties inherent in the creative process. Through workshops, writing groups, and online forums, I forged connections that crossed geographical boundaries, finding comfort in knowing that I was not alone in my endeavors.
 
As my journey progressed, so did my understanding of the power of storytelling. I realised that writing is more than just making sentences; it’s about using the power of words to evoke emotions, stimulate thought, and inspire change. Whether through fiction or non-fiction, I have sought to infuse authenticity and empathy into my writing to highlight the human experience in all its complexity and nuance.
 
Of course, no journey is without setbacks and detours. There were times of rejection and disappointment; it seemed like the winds of destiny were always against me. However, through each failure, I found the strength to persevere, weather the storm, and emerge stronger on the other side.
Today, as I reflect on my journey as a writer, I am filled with a sense of gratitude for the experiences that have shaped me. Every word written and every story told is a stepping stone on the path of self-discovery and self-improvement. And although the sea of creativity is vast and ever-changing, I navigate its waters with determination and passion, eager to see where the next current may take me.

--

--

Parin Waljee
Write A Catalyst

A certified counsellor and an accomplished Author, I'm looking forward to sharing my wealth of knowledge in diverse areas. I enjoy Golf, Ice skating and Nature.