My Online Writing Found Traction Once I Narrowed My Niche

Smaller topic, larger audience

Jon Svec
Write A Catalyst
2 min readJul 8, 2024

--

Photo by Japheth Mast on Unsplash

I have no desire to write online about a topic I’m not interested in.

Crypto?

Personal finance?

Fad diets?

No thanks.

I’m a football coach, I write about football.

But for the longest time I was stuck. I wasn’t gaining any new followers. I had plateaued.

But I wasn’t willing to switch to a niche I didn’t enjoy.

So what’s an online writer to do?

Backstory

I started writing online during Covid.

When the world shut down, I turned to online writing in an attempt to save my sanity.

And it worked.

Even though I was stuck in the house, I was able to talk about my favourite subject:

Canadian football.

I found a small audience, and over time I experienced some slow and steady growth.

After Covid, I kept at it.

It was fun.

Going Narrow

Fast forward to last month.

After years of tinkering and iterating, I decided make a subtle tweak to my niche.

Instead of writing about the entire sport of Canadian football, I narrowed my focus and began writing about one specific position.

The Linebacker position, to be exact.

And everything exploded.

What Happened Next

I went from about 4,000 followers on X to over 10.3k.

My newsletter went from 600 subscribers to over 1,500.

Every post I made on X was getting huge engagement.

I was connecting with more and more coaches each day, and my online products started flying off the virtual shelves.

All from this one subtle tweak.

It’s been amazing.

Final Thoughts

It’s strange how this works.

You spend time weighing options and thinking about how to move your writing forward.

But until you try stuff and see what sticks, you’ll never know.

I never would have thought that narrowing my niche would lead to such an explosion of interest.

What could narrowing your niche do for you?

--

--